Iowa World
Language Association

Educator of the Year (EOTY) Award

This award is given to the individual who exemplifies the best in teaching at his/her particular level and who has provided outstanding service to the profession in the state of Iowa and to the IWLA.  Service to the IWLA may be in the form of, but not limited to: presentations to IWLA or subgroups thereof, such as outreach workshops; support groups; service on the Board, Advisory Council, or on IWLA committees; sharing results of grant work; and other such contributions.

Recipients are selected on these criteria alone.  No consideration is given to the candidate’s language specialization. You may not nominate yourself.

Procedure:  Colleagues may nominate candidates by filling out the online nomination form linked below.  Note that nominator will have to write a brief statement of nomination, outlining why the nominee merits receiving the award.  Upon receipt of this nomination, the IWLA Awards Committee will notify all candidates, who must then submit a resumé/CV, a short statement, and three letters of support.  The nominator may write one of these letters of support as an expansion of their statement of nomination.

Past recipients of this award are not eligible. These outstanding educators include:
Jim Becker, Lydia Ruiz, Marcia Rosenbusch, Nile Vernon, Anne Volkman, Donna Grunstad, James Graham, Sandy Nyhus, Shelly Winters, Magdalene Mujica-Voy, MichaelOates, Barbara Maitland, Toni Baugher, Walter Chatfield, Janine Shelley, Barbara Peterson, Dedi Walker, Rosemarie VanDyk, Patricia Westphal, Janet Brown Lowe, Evelyn Bress, Joan Pace, Joan Lewis, Jacques Dubois, Lieselotte Ritter, Jane Klaver, Linda Wilson, Ana Peck, Cheryl Voelliger, Connie Smith, Tom Dougless, Jurgen Koppensteiner, Russ Freerking, Alicia Van Bergen, Denise Murray, Nelle Hutter, Heidi Galer, Jeanette Borich, Sally Clute, Donna Van Bodegraven, Eunice Van Tuyl, Holly Kaptain, Kerisa Baedke, Mercia Foster, Paris Sangrene, Trish Colburn, Larry Pace, Joye Lore-Larson, Lowell Hoeft, Hildegard (Pochy) Morales, Jere Brands, Moira McCluney, Tatiana Spektor, William Hemmes, Shelly Power, Tammy Dann, Steve Christianson, Dawn Frye, Wade Petersen, Patricia Calkins, Kay Wells, Lindsey Rice Cornwell, Susan Sandholm-Petersen, Beth Vanderwilt, Terri Gebel, Anna Marasco, Dawn Bratsch-Prince, Sara Blanco, Elizabeth Zwanziger Page, Coralie Turner, Lisa Sobotka, Anne Lair, Candace Sherwood, Jean-Pierre Taoutel, Jim Gerrans, Regina Schantz, Julie Wilhelm, Marianne Sandberg, Keith Bonnstetter, Carrie Morris, Amy Murphy, Kate Falvey, Christine McCormick, Stacy Amling, Kimberly Huegerich, and 
Megan (Fandel) Vernon.

Please note that not all categories may be awarded each year.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software